A welcome to our new Editorial Board

I am glad to announce that the following two distinguished colleagues have accepted my invitation to be in the Editorial Board of Nanomedicine Research Journal:


Sevda Senel is Professor of Pharmaceutical Technology at the Hacettepe University, Faculty of Pharmacy, Turkey. Her research areas involves mucosal drug/vaccine delivery, veterinary drug delivery and dental drug delivery through collaborations with scientists  from national and international centers including University of Iowa; University of London; University of Strathclyde; CSIRO-Australia; University of Paris-XI, France; International Medical University, Malaysia; University of Leiden, IMSS, Mexico, being awarded the  National (TÜBITAK, Hacettepe University Research Fund, Eczacıbaşı Award Fund, Novartis Award Fund, Ministry of Science, Technology and Industry) and International grants (NATO- Research Grants (CRG and CLG), NIH-R12, The British Council Academic Link Scheme, FP7 SME Research grant).

Professor Senel has published over 150 communications to scientific meetings, papers in refereed journals, book chapters and books. She served as the editor-in chief the FABAD Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences between 2009-2012, and currently serves on the Editorial Board of Journal of Drug Delivery Science and Technology, Journal of Pharmaceutical Technology and Development, Polish Chitin Society Journal. She is on the CMC committee for vaccines at The Drug and Medical Device Agency of Turkey. She served as the president of the European Chitin Society for two terms between 2009-2013, and still serves on several committees at the Controlled Release Society (CRS).

Professor Senel has received many honours, awards, and fellowships, which include a scholarship from NUFFIC-Holland, a NATO Postdoctoral Fellowship, a French Government scholarship, a TÜBITAK -Visiting Scientist scholarship, CRS-InterVet 2005 Best Paper award in Veterinary Drug Delivery, 2005 Novartis Research Fund-Turkey-Pharmaceutical Technology Best Paper award, the best paper award EUCHIS-AAAPC Sci, 2015.   She has received the “2010 Distinguished Scientist Award” by the Academy of Science of the Turkish Pharmacists Association, and recently, the “2011Hacettepe University Science Award”


Dr. ÇALIŞ was appointed as an Assistant Professor in 1992 at Hacettepe University and received the titles of Assoc and full Professor in 1994 and 2002 respectively from the same University.  Prof ÇALIŞ is currently working as a Professor and Head of the Pharmaceutical Technology Department, in Hacettepe University, Faculty of Pharmacy.

Her main research areas are formulation of microparticulate drug delivery systems, controlled drug delivery, formulation of biodegradable drug delivery systems for biomedical applications, studies on antibiotic, anticancer and anti-inflammatory drugs for preparing implantable systems development of drug delivery systems for orthopoedic applications and advised thesis concerning medical devices/drug-device combination products.

She has over 60 peer reviewed full articles, 10 book chapters and over 100 published proceedings and abstracts. Prof ÇALIŞ has completed numerous international and national projects and still carrying out as project coordinator and/or researcher. She has awards taken from Hacettepe University Senate and awards from Turkish Drug Industry and Technopark of Hacettepe University. She was a consultant of Turkish Medicines and Medical Devices Agency, for Generic, Biotechnology, Bioavailability and Bioequivalance, and New Drug Applications Committees. She is a member of various professional Societies and served as a member in  Executive Committees of some. She has worked actively in Organizing Committees of various International Meetings, currently Chair of International Pharmaceutical Technology Symposium of Hacettepe University. Currently she is also Chair of Animal Ethics Committee of Hacettepe University.

Dr. Farid Abedin Dorkoosh